“Possessions are symbolic expressions of ourselves because we both are and have bodies. Every claim of ownership, therefore, involves an ambiguity; we say, this is mine, but we imply as well, this is me. Our possessions extend not only to our bodies as possessions into the world but also our bodies as our selves….When I open wide my arms to greet you, I am stating a welcome; when I open wide the doors of my house as you walk by, I am making precisely the same statement. The disposition of our possessions symbolizes our self-disposition in the same way that our bodies symbolize our selves.”

-Luke Timothy Johnson

Leave a Reply

